Press Releases

Find the latest press releases from the ACLU of San Diego & Imperial Counties.

CONTACT:
Edward Sifuentes
esifuentes@aclusandiego.org
(619) 501-3408

Individuals exercising their lawful right to seek asylum in the United States must not be torn apart from their families or summarily deported back to a country in which they fear persecution or torture.
Press Releases

Jewish Family Service & ACLU File Complaint After DHS Expels Newborn U.S. Citizen

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE July 10, 2020 Media Contacts: Sandy Young/ Ashley Bendas, Jewish Family Service of San Diego, 619-295-7140 sandy@jwalcher.com/ ashley@jwalcher.com Edgar Hopida, ACLUF of San Diego &... Read More

Press Releases

ACLU Seeks DHS Inspector General Review of Border Patrol’s Verbal Abuse of People in its Custody and Overhaul of Disciplinary Procedures

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE July 7, 2020 CONTACT: Edgar Hopida, ACLU Foundation of San Diego & Imperial Counties, 619-913-0719, ehopida@aclusandiego.org SAN DIEGO – Today, the ACLU Foundation of San Diego &... Read More

Press Releases

ACLU Calls for a Reduction in Population at Imperial Regional Detention Facility During COVID-19 Pandemic

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE June 12, 2020 CONTACT: Edward Sifuentes, ACLU Foundation of San Diego & Imperial Counties, 619-501-3408, esifuentes@aclusandiego.org IMPERIAL – Today, the ACLU Foundation of San Diego... Read More

ACLU of California Statement on the Governor’s Executive Order on the November General Election

Media Contact: Janine Shimomura 916-824-3266, jshimomura@acluca.org FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE June 3, 2020 SACRAMENTO – Today, Governor Newsom issued an executive order to ensure that Californians can exercise... Read More

Screenshot of an ACLU Southern California YouTube Video with an illustration of Kelvin saying 'We're human beings.'
Immigrant Rights

Court Rejects Lawsuit to Force Governor to Halt ICE Transfers During Pandemic

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE May 13, 2020 MEDIA CONTACT: ACLU SoCal Communications & Media Advocacy, communications@aclusocal.org, 626-755-4129 (cell) SACRAMENTO — The California Supreme Court today rejected a... Read More